Colorado Beverages Honored with National Good Food Awards

Photo: courtesy Dram Apothecary

Photo: courtesy Dram Apothecary

Spirits, Beer and Bitters Producers Strengthen Communities 

Good tasting food is always important to the consumer, but that is only part of the recipe according to an up-and-coming craft food competition by the Good Food Foundation (GFF) in San Francisco. The organization also takes other components into consideration like social and environmental impacts, and how each business strengthens its own community. 

For the past nine years, the GFF accepted entries from craft food and drink purveyors across the country for the annual Good Food Awards. Thousands of products in 16 categories from spirits to pickles are judged by a committee that performs a blind taste-test on each product. Finalists are then vetted to ensure they meet strict sustainable practice guidelines before being considered for an award. 

Six Colorado beverages were announced as winners at last weekend’s Good Food Awards:

Photo: courtesy Deerhammer Distillery

Photo: courtesy Deerhammer Distillery

1. Buena Vista-based Deerhammer Distillery’s American Single Malt Whiskey.

2. Denver-based Bear Creek Distillery’s 100% Rye Vodka.

3. Denver-based Leopold Bros.’ Maryland-style Rye Whiskey. 

4. Durango-based Ska Brewing’s True Blonde Ale, which uses Durango honey.

5. Salida-based DRAM Apothecary’s Palo Santo Bitters.

6. Boulder-based Cocktailpunk’s Oak Aromatic Bitters.

"It’s great to finally see the American Single Malt category gain some recognition, but even more awesome to be recognized by the Good Food Awards that takes the judging criteria seriously for American whiskey,” says Deerhammer founder and head distiller Lenny Eckstein. “This award is a huge honor for us.”

Shae Whitney, founder of DRAM Apothecary, said the awards help the best companies stand out. “It means that we’re staying true to our craft and our individual creativity,” she says. “The Good Food Awards are about authenticity and quality and we’re very proud to accept yet another award.”

- Lisa McIntyre